Color Blocking and Simple Pleasures Nail Polish Review

Standard

IMAG0290

Hi again! I’m just posting up a storm the first couple days. I’m three days in a row, yes? Anyway, I’ve come with what is my favorite mani technique (even if it drives my boyfriend crazy because it’s “not symmetrical.” Whatever.) I discovered it through eleventhgorgeous on YouTube, and they called it the “color blocking” technique.

IMAG0291
(A rare shot of my right hand, even though I’m a lefty.)

The technique is really simple: You use two colors, and on one hand you paint your thumb, pointer, and pinkie with the first color, and your middle and ring fingers with the second color. On your other hand, you reverse the order.

I’m also here to review the polishes I used for this manicure. The brand is called Simple Pleasures, and they’re $4.99 for a set of seven polishes, so not a bad deal. I picked mine up at Burlington Coat Factory, but I’ve read you can also get them at Ross and probably even T.J.Maxx. They’re all creme polishes (something I never seem to have enough of, even though I love them), and for the price, they’re not bad. I’ve seen a couple other reviews of this brand of polish from a couple years ago complaining that the brush was crap. It seems like they’ve massively improved upon the brush because I had no issues. However, the formula is a little runny, but it’s totally opaque in two coats.

I’m hoping to keep up this trend, I’m spending August doing the 31 day nail challenge, so let’s see if I keep it up everyday:

30 day nailchallenge

If you wanna join in, do so! It’s so much more fun when you do it with another blogger or two.

3 thoughts on “Color Blocking and Simple Pleasures Nail Polish Review

  1. I feel like I’ve just learned a lot of new things. 1: I can buy nail polish at TJ Maxx. 2: There is a name for the type of nail polish I’ve been using (creme!). And 3: I should color block my nails (though I’ll probably add a french tip to all of mine to maintain some “symmetry”).

    • Sorry it took me so long to get back to you!

      1. You’d be surprised at where you can buy nail polish! I got a good chunk of my stash at Dollar Tree, for example.
      2. Hee! Yeah, every type of finish has a name (creme, metallic, shimmer, holo, etc.)
      3. I love this technique so much, more people should be doing it.

Leave a Reply

