31 Days of Manicures Day 27: Artwork Inspired Nails.

Standard

image

Today was a tough one for me, and I had been planning it all month, and then all my plans for today went out the window. After searching and searching for a piece of art that was easy to do but not overdone, I was originally planning to do a Pollock inspired splatter mani, but I realized I need more practice with that. So then I had a realization: today would have been my maternal grandmother’s birthday if she were still here (we unfortunately lost her in 2001). So I wanted to do a mani honoring her, but still had the challenge mani to do. So I figured, why not combine the two? So I shot some relatives some texts and figured out from my aunt that my grandmother liked Monet, which led to a quest to try to do a Monet inspired look.

image

I found a tutorial on YouTube for a mani inspired by Monet’s Water Lilies, which sparked this look. I actually didn’t use anything in the tutorial, but used it to determine I could do something similar. I started with two coats of Sally Hansen Hard to Get. I then sponged a gradient on using Hard to Get, Shades of the Season Light Blue and Revlon Royal. After that, I used a black striper to make the seaweed, and a small dotting tool with Simple Pleasures Light Pink, then a smaller dotting tool with Hard to Get. Topped off with NYC Extra Shiny Top Coat. I’m happy with the look, it actually came out exactly as I thought it would in my head, which is a rarity for me, lol. Tomorrow is Flag Inspired Nails. I’ve always known what I’m doing for this one (and it, in fact, also honors my grandmother, so that’s cool.)

One thought on “31 Days of Manicures Day 27: Artwork Inspired Nails.

Leave a Reply

