Sunday Stamping: Inspired by a Fairy Tale

Standard

051213-01

It’s Sunday, so that means it’s challenge day at Adventures in Stamping. This week’s challenge was “Inspired by your favorite fairy tale.” Well, I don’t really have a favorite fairy tale, so I went down the list of my favorite Disney movies until I came across one I liked that I could work with given my limited stamping supplies.

051213-02

051213-03

051213-04

I ended up going with Beauty and the Beast, but I knew I wasn’t feeling going with the Disney version, because I know Disney is notorious for mangling the original story.

Though Beauty and the Beast is one of their better adaptations (they actually added more than they skipped over), I still took most of my elements from the original tale.

On my pointer and ring finger, I started with two coats of Color Club French Tip, then one coat of Piggy Polish Frosty. I then stamped with Shades of the Season Red and Nina Ultra Pro Emerald City to create the roses. On my middle finger I started with two coats of French Tip, then used two coats of Sally Hansen Insta-Dri Lickety Split Lime. While the second coat was still wet, I dipped my finger into some green flocking powder to represent the beast. (This did lead to The Fanboy going, “But the beast is brown!” and me responding, “Only in the Disney version!”)  After a while, The Fanboy suggested I add a face so it’s obvious what that was, so I did that with acrylic paint. On my pinky I extended that by doing my whole nail in the Lickety Split Lime/flocking powder combo.

On my thumb I started with two coats of Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear Celeb City, then one coat of Milani 3D Holographic HD. I then used Anise Wildcat (that polish is getting a lot of love from me lately) to create a border to represent the enchanted mirror the beast gives beauty when she goes home to see her family.

The mirror was the hardest part. I was trying to freehand the entire mirror, but my freehand skills are kinda poor, so I just kinda abstracted it. I also had slight issues with the “cartoonyness” of the beast and the mirror contrasting the realism of the roses, but what can you do?

Tomorrow is another MSMD post, so check back to see what I replicate.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Stamping: Inspired by a Fairy Tale

Leave a Reply

