Tri-Polish Challenge Day 15

Standard

062513-01

Good afternoon everyone! It’s Tuesday so it’s time for Tri-Polish Challenge!

Remember, this month’s colors are red, pink, and purple and my chosen polishes are NYC Red Velvet Rope, Color Club Flamingo, and Simple Pleasures Purple

062513-02

062513-03

So aaaaallll the way back in March, I did a matte dotticure with March’s Tri-Polish Colors (that post is also significant as it was the first post where I consciously photographed my right hand exclusively), and it makes sense, to me at least, that there should be a matte “stripicure” to go with it. Thus, today’s look.

I started with two coats of Flamingo, then used the long striping brush from my brand new nail art brush set (this one by Mia Secret) to add the stripes with the purple and Red Velvet Rope. I then added a coat of my Color Club top coat to prevent smearing, then mattified with Hard Candy’s Matte-ly in Love (coincidentally the same matte top coat I used in the March mani).

The nail art brush set was so generously purchased for me at my new favorite little nail art shop by The Fanboy. I love them, but my polish has a tendency to stain the white bristles on it. The only thing that would make them even better is if the handles were purple, the design on them matches the one on my dotting tools’ handles almost perfectly.

I really like this manicure, but I wish I had used one of the smaller striping brushes. I had about as much precision with the long brush as I do with the brush in a striping polish (which, for me, isn’t very much at all), and the stripes show it. Other than that, there really isn’t anything bad to say about this.

Check out what the other Tarts did with these colors by clicking the link below:

4 thoughts on “Tri-Polish Challenge Day 15

Leave a Reply

