For Brooklyn

Standard

101513-01

Today is Pregnancy and Infant Loss Awareness Day, and October is Pregnancy and Infant Loss Awareness Month, so I did a very special mani for a very special little girl today.

I do have to make it known that this is not my story, but it is one near and dear to my heart. (I have gotten the mother’s permission to tell this story.)

101513-02

101513-03

My friend and her husband had wanted a second child. Their son, who is now 8, always wanted a little brother and sister. They decided the time was right for a second, and she got pregnant.

She had an uneventful pregnancy, and had her daughter, Brooklyn Rose, on May 18, 2012. All seemed well. Brooklyn was a healthy, happy baby, and was well loved by family and friends (I was known as Miss Erika).

On October 16, 2012 that all changed. She had been dropped off at the sitter when her parents went to work, and the intent was for her aunt to pick her up later. But when her aunt arrived, Brooklyn was already gone, taken from those who loved her by SIDS.

For this mani, I decided to do a mix n match with light pink and baby blue, the colors of the pregnancy and infant loss awareness ribbon. I used solid colors on my thumb and middle finger, Simply Sweet Light Pink on my thumb and Shades of the Season Light Blue on my middle finger. On my pointer I did a water marble with those two colors, and on my pinky I used the light pink with Sinful Colors Pinky Glitter on top. On my ring finger I did a sloppy gradient with NYC SoHo and Wet N Wild Cool Blue Blast.

The only thing I wish I had included were butterflies in some respect. Not only because they’re part of the pregnancy and infant loss ribbon, but because butterflies are Brooklyn’s thing. Her room was to be done up in butterflies, and every time the family sees one now, they say it’s Brooklyn coming to say hello.

I’ll end with a picture of myself with little Brookie, taken at my going away party before I moved from Arizona to Colorado:

2 thoughts on “For Brooklyn

Leave a Reply

