Rainbows: Red

Standard

090514-01

This is the start of a series I’ve been wanting to do for a while, but I’ve been missing a few polishes to make it work perfectly. Now that I have everything I need, I can start the series.

I have a bit of a fascination with rainbows, even if I haven’t shown it off on the blog. And I noticed in my process of collecting I was, obviously, collecting rainbows of polish. But not just one rainbow, I was building a variety of them. I was working on a standard rainbow, a pastel rainbow, a dark rainbow, etc.

I’m debating if I’m going to include other finishes, but to start this series is going to encompass the six colors associated with “colors of the rainbow” (yes, ignoring indigo), and for now just creme finish polishes. I’m gonna pick one polish from my stash to represent each shade of the color: a dark/vampy shade, a bright shade, and a pastel shade.

And we’re starting with red.

090514-02

For my dark/vampy red, I chose LA Colors Color Craze in Hot Blooded. I own many an LA Colors Color Craze polish, but most of them are jelly polishes that I don’t have the patience to bother with, but Hot Blooded is the perfect oxblood red creme. Opaque and level in two coats, but you could definitely get away with one. This is two coats plus top coat.

090514-03

For a bright, true red, I went with Pure Ice Siren. Siren is a polish The Fanboy rescued for me outside of our last apartment. It had been left for dead, and all it needed was a bit of thinner. Now it’s a perfect true red. Two coats plus top coat.

090514-04

I bet you were expecting a pink here, right? Well if you Google “pastel red” the results are more along the lines of this, which is closer to a salmon/pink based coral than what we think of as pink. So for this project, I went looking for a perfect salmon color to use. And after purchasing at least two, maybe even three, polishes that I hoped fit the bill but didn’t, The Fanboy came home from Marshall’s with a surprise five pack of these Ellen Tracy polishes, and this shade was the perfect shade of salmon. I was so excited! I believe this was two, maybe three coats plus top coat.

2 thoughts on “Rainbows: Red

Leave a Reply

